Stumper Detail

Date: Monday, January 1, 2001 
Question/Topic: Nobility - Lords - Ranking 
Answer/Pointer: The five orders of English nobility - dukes, marquesses, earls, viscounts, and barons - constitute the lords temporal, in contradistinction to the prelates of the church, or lords spiritual, who are those archbishops and bishops of the Church of England who are members of the legislature and sit in the House of Lords. The title [Lord] is also applied, but only by courtesy, to the sons of dukes and marquesses and to the eldest sons of earls. Source: Encyclopedia Americana, article on Lord. 
Librarian: LCLCPL 

Close this Window