Stumper Detail

Date: Monday, January 1, 2001 
Question/Topic: Leon County Schools - Names - Middle and High Schools & districtwide 
Answer/Pointer: Leon County Schools - Middle and High Schools MIDDLE SCHOOLS Belle Vue: named after Belle Vue Way, the street where the school is located Cobb: for Elizabeth Cobb, first principal of Caroline Brevard Elementary School Deerlake: named for the area Fairview: named for the nearby North Florida Fairgrounds Griffin: for the Rev. Henry Griffin, pastor of the church that donated the land for the school Nims: for R. Frank Nims, Leon County teacher and principal Raa: for Augusta Raa, 32-year veteran Leon County teacher Steele-Collins: named jointly for the Rev. C. K. Steele and Gov. LeRoy Collins Swift Creek: American Indian description of the area HIGH SCHOOLS Lawton Chiles: for Gov. Lawton Chiles Godby: for Amos P. Godby, Leon County Schools superintendent from 1945-1965 Leon: represents the county, which is named after Spanish explorer Ponce de Leon Lincoln: for Abraham Lincoln, U.S. president, and reusing the name of the former Lincoln High School on Brevard Street Rickards: for James S. Rickards, Broward County Schools superintendent and executive secretary of the Florida Education Association DISTRICTWIDE Gretchen Everhart: for Gretchen Everhart, Leon County supervisor for exceptional children Lively Technical Center: for businessman Lewis M. Lively, who donated two rooms in Tallahassee to start the school, in 1931 Pat Thomas Law Enforcement Academy: for Pat Thomas, state senator, D-Quincy SAIL = School for Applied Individual Learning Source: Karla Scoon Reid, Leon County Schools 
Librarian: LCLCPL 

Close this Window