Stumper Detail

Date: Monday, January 1, 2001 
Question/Topic: Tallahassee - History - Historical Information - Leon County 
Answer/Pointer: Leon County, originally part of both Escambia County and Jackson County, and later a part of Gadsden County, was created by the Territorial Legislature December 29, 1824 as the seventh county in the State of Florida. Named for Ponce De Leon, Leon County was one of the most populous and prosperous counties in ante-bellum Florida. Tallahassee, named for the "old fields" that it once encompassed, earned the title early in the 16th century from the Apalachee Indians who inhabited the area. Legend says that the final spelling was chosen by Octavia Walton, daughter of the territorial governor of Florida. Today, Tallahassee exemplifies not only the influence of the Indian, but also that of the Spanish, French and English who occupied the area in succession. The City of Tallahassee, the county seat and only incorporated city in Leon County, was incorporated on Dec. 9, 1825, following a decision by the legislature to locate the capital of the new Florida Territory midway between the population centers of St. Augustine and Pensacola. 
Librarian: LCLCPL 

Close this Window