||Monday, August 21, 2000
||If an employee of the State is required to use his/her
personal vehicle on state business, what is the
reimbursement rate, per mile, which the employee may claim?
||The 1999 Florida Statute that covers this is 112.061(7)(d)1.
"The use of privately owned vehicles for official travel in
lieu of publicly owned vehicles or common carriers may be
authorized by the agency head or his or her designee.
Whenever travel is by privately owned vehicle, the traveler
shall be entitled to a mileage allowance at a fixed rate
of 25 cents per mile for state fiscal year 1994-1995 and
29 cents per mile thereafter or the common carrier fare
for such travel, as determined by the agency head.
Reimbursement for expenditures related to the operation,
maintenance, and ownership of a vehicle shall not be
allowed when privately owned vehicles are used on public
business and reimbursement is made pursuant to this
paragraph, except as provided in subsection (8)."
The 1999 Florida Statutes are online at
Select Title X, then part 1. Scroll down to FS 112.061.