News Release

Leon County
Board of County Commissioners
301 South Monroe Street, Tallahassee, Florida 32301
(850) 606-5302

Leon County Logo



Mathieu Cavell, Director
Community and Media Relations
(850) 606-5300

EMS Chief Receives National Recognition Award

Leon County’s Tom Quillin Selected as EMS Executive of the Year

The National EMS Management Association recently selected Leon County Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Chief Tom Quillin as EMS Executive of the Year. He will be honored for his outstanding performance as an EMS manager Wednesday, Aug. 31, at the EMS World Expo in Las Vegas.

The National EMS Management Association is an association of EMS leaders dedicated to the discovery, development and promotion of excellence in leadership and management in EMS systems. Each year they present an EMS Executive of the Year to an EMS manager whose performance matches the values and qualities deemed exceptional by the association.

"I’m very honored to be this year’s EMS Executive of the Year,” said Chief Quillin. "I am even more honored to have such an incredible and supportive EMS staff who all helped make it possible for me to receive this honor."

In 2010, Chief Quillin earned the Marilyn Crook EMS Pioneer award. The award is given to one individual statewide who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership and innovation and promotes best practices to build internal and external partnerships.

"Each year Chief Quillin does an amazing job as chief, and I’m very pleased that he has been selected to receive this honor," said County Administrator Vincent S. Long. "He has led our EMS team through such a great year, and I couldn’t be more proud."

Chief Quillin has gained extensive experience by working in a number of positions throughout his career. Before he was appointed as the chief of EMS in 2005, Quillin served as the Tallahassee Fire Department chief for 15 years. He also previously worked as a fire chief at two fire departments in Illinois, serving in the ranks of firefighter/paramedic, lieutenant and assistant chief.

Quillin’s awards are just one of many other accolades given to the only seven-year-old Leon County EMS team. Last year, LCEMS was named the EMS Provider of the Year by the state of Florida, and Leon County’s Stephen Suarez was named Paramedic of the Year.

This year, Leon County Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Deputy Chief of Operations Malcolm "Mac" Kemp was awarded the annual Larry S. Jordan EMS Lifetime Achievement Award at the 21st Annual Excellence in EMS Awards Ceremony in Orlando. The Larry S. Jordan Award is given annually to a national advocate for EMS who increases public attention and action at the highest levels. The individual must also have devoted a significant part of his or her life to promoting and advancing pre-hospital emergency care.

Kemp was also responsible for implementing the first EMS quality management program for TMH EMS, which was also one of the first EMS quality management programs in the State of Florida.

Additionally, Dr. Kim Landry, Medical Director for Leon County Emergency Medical Services, was named the 2011 Raymond H. Alexander Medical Director of the Year. The Bureau of Emergency Medical Services presents the annual award to honor a physician who assumed a leadership role in EMS with the community and demonstrates excellence in the areas of quality assurance/improvement and medical control, as well as the promotion and use of new medical trends and technologies.

LCEMS staff has also been recognized for their accreditation by the Commission on Accreditation of Ambulance Services (CAAS) for compliance with national standards of excellence, becoming the only municipal ambulance service to be accredited in the state and only the eighth municipal service accredited in the country.

In recent years, LCEMS has also received awards from national publications, including a Crown Community Award from American City and County Magazine and a Gold Award from EMS Magazine, and it has been named a Heart Ready County by the American Heart Association for the last four consecutive years.
For more information, contact Public Information Officer Jon D. Brown at (850) 606-5300 / or EMS Capt. Sally Davis at (850) 606-2113 / .